Pajkos-Szabó Underdrift Windmill – Kiskunfélegyháza
Kiskunfélegyháza was uninhabited grassland during the Turkish Occupation and was re-populated in 1743. The new settlers first had their grain milled by the dry mills of the village, and from 1798 windmills appeared in the town. By the 1860s, the golden age of the windmills, 50-60 windmills had already been in operation in Kiskunfélegyháza.
The only remaining underdrift windmill now stands in the yard of the Kiskun Museum. Landowner Lajos Csányi had it built in 1860 by millwright János Fábián. The windmill once stood on the Kismindszenti Road outside the town. From 1910 it was owned by miller István Pajkos-Szabó, who sold it to the Hungarian History Museum in 1939, making it the first windmill of historic monument status in Hungary. In 1961-62 the protected building was relocated to the yard of the Kiskun Museum, and since then this special example of built heritage can be viewed here.
The entire internal grinding structure of the windmill survived, giving an authentic picture of the 19th century heyday of the flourishing local mill industry. With its richly carved furnishings, it presents an exceptional intertwining of contemporary folk art and mill architecture, which is unique in the Carpathian Basin in terms of its style and special detailing.